All councils

Article 4 directions

Article 4 directions in London Borough of Southwark

London Borough of Southwark has published 480 Article 4 direction areas in force to the national planning dataset (planning.data.gov.uk), as of our last update on 25 October 2026. 2 of them withdraw Class L — the change from a house (C3) to a small house in multiple occupation (C4) — according to the council's published record. 478 records do not say which rights it withdraws.

The national dataset holds what councils have published to it, so a recent direction may be missing — confirm with the council before relying on permitted development. An Article 4 boundary can split a postcode: check the exact address with the council.

Areas where Class L (small HMO) is withdrawn

AreaReferenceIn force fromRecord
Houses in multiple occupation: Bywater Place, SE16113not statedsource
Houses in multiple occupation: Henshaw Street, SE17114not statedsource

Class L is Schedule 2, Part 3 of the General Permitted Development Order 2015; a small HMO (use class C4) has not more than six residents. A direction withdraws only the classes it names, so other changes of use may still be permitted development here — the source record shows what the council published.

Other Article 4 areas in force

0 records list the classes withdrawn without Class L; 478 records do not say which rights it withdraws. Codes such as 1A or 2C name the permitted development classes withdrawn (Part and Class of Schedule 2).

Show the first 150 of 478 by name

The full list for London Borough of Southwark is in the national planning dataset.

Looking at a property in London Borough of Southwark? Analyse it with DataDeal — the analysis checks Article 4 at the property's postcode, with stamp duty, mortgage and cash flow after tax across six strategies.